Who's Online
13 registered (robinus, mike3325, SteakFarmer, Bravo6, GWC3, wrickster, MILF_HUNTER, Eric Pugh, JND, trailertrash, 3 invisible), 13 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
#1002073 - 02/05/16 06:44 AM Deadly Force and the Protection of Personal Property
Oscar Offline
Double barrel

Loc: Richmond
City or County: Chesterfield
RPD officer indicted for murder in connection to off-duty shooting of teen

This indictment has me scratching my head. I'm really confused as to why this guy is being indicted.

I've started doing some research to look into this. While I have no legal background whatsoever, my only references at this moment are "THEY" and "The Internet".

As best I can tell (at the moment) is that Virginia does not allow for the use of deadly force to defend against the theft of personal property in the absence of threat. It appears that if the bad guy has broken into your house and is walking out with your big-screen tv, you cannot shoot him.

Apparently, if someone demands your wallet without presenting a weapon, you cannot defend yourself with lethal force.

Can anyone with any legal background or LEO elaborate? Or point me to case law, code or statue?

At this point, I'm looking for a gun law class.

#1004538 - 02/10/16 11:09 PM Re: Deadly Force and the Protection of Personal Property [Re: Oscar]
toughtom12 Offline
Gun fool

Loc: Centreville/Manassas
City or County: Manassas