Who's Online
10 registered (2022runner, Ron_L, Kevinlee93, kapon, RL15, Bn1837, 4 invisible), 19 Guests and 2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
#1195791 - 05/08/17 09:31 PM Help me understand NFA, trust, etc.
SgtSquishySquash Offline
Belt Fed

Loc: VA
City or County: Dinwiddie & Henrico
How's it going traders? So I am new to the whole NFA, non nfa, gun trust, tax stamp world.
I know firearms well. 8 year Marine Vet. But I am looking to get a suppressor. What do I need? What don't I need? Do I have to have a trust? Does that mean I don't technically own the item anymore? Does the item stay at a trust company's safe until I want to use it? I am lost. Please treat me barney style on this whole topic and help me learn a little.
Thanks folks.
If They Stand Against You, Show Them No Mercy

#1195805 - 05/08/17 10:08 PM Re: Help me understand NFA, trust, etc. [Re: SgtSquishySquash]
twidpa Offline
Marksman

Loc: Virginia
City or County: Richmond
Go to https://www.silencershop.com/services/nfa-gun-trust.html and look around. It will explain some questions for you. Several silencer dealers offer the trusts if you buy their product.
T

#1195824 - 05/08/17 10:55 PM Re: Help me understand NFA, trust, etc. [Re: SgtSquishySquash]
UBETRUN Offline
Marksman

Loc: Stafford, VA
City or County: Stafford
After July of last year, trusts became less attractive because under new ATF regulations, everyone on the trust has to be fingerprinted. Before last July, a trust allowed a person to bypass fingerprints and local LE signoff. Trusts still allow your friends/family to keep your toys after your death but they no longer make it 'easier' to get the toys in the first place the way they used to.