Who's Online
5 registered (chri169, TheFielder, chutchi2, BSA1944, 1 invisible), 10 Guests and 0 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
#833620 - 12/27/14 12:53 PM Receiving a Handgun as a gift...out of state
setch Offline
Bolt action

Loc: VA
City or County: Fairfax
I hope I am posting this in an appropriate forum....if not, I can move elsewhere.

I have been researching this all morning on the BATFE site and VA State Police site, but cannot quite get the answer to the precise issue. Here's the scenario...

I am a resident of VA. My father (who is a PA resident), gave me a handgun as a christmas gift. There is no purchase, simply a gift between blood relatives.

In order for me to possess it in VA, does it have to be sent to a VA FFL, from whom I take possession....or can I take direct possession of it and transport it myself to VA? What about if my father visited me, brought it along and transferred it to me in the state of VA?

...I think I know the answer, just looking for an authoritative answer.

thnx

#833667 - 12/27/14 02:54 PM Re: Receiving a Handgun as a gift...out of state [Re: setch]
rromeo Offline
Bullseye

City or County: Pulaski
Almost all interstate firearms transfers must use an FFL, and handgun transactions must use an FFL in the receiving party's home state. This situation is one of them. It doesn't matter if you're in PA or he comes to VA, you can only pick it up from an FFL in Virginia.
If it was a rifle or shotgun, then you could go down to an FFL in Pennsylvania.
If your dad is visiting soon, then he can save shipping fees and hand deliver it to your local FFL.
Never initiate force against another. But should someone do violence to you, retaliate without hesitation, without reservation, without quarter, until you are sure that he will never wish to harm - or never be capable of harming - you or yours again.

#834383 - 12/29/14 02:38 AM Re: Receiving a Handgun as a gift...out of state [Re: setch]
Lorelei Offline
I Do Wheelies